Dialog Box

Loading...

Fabry Disease Clinics in Australia & New Zealand

Fabry disease, is a progressive multisystem disease which can impact quality of life (QoL) of both male and female patients (adults and children). People diagnosed with Fabry disease are encouraged to be seen regularly by a Clinic (whether or not they receive specific Fabry disease therapy such as Enzyme Replacement Therapy) to keep an eye on progression of Fabry disease symptoms. Frequency of visits is usually 1-2 times a year but it can vary patient to patient. 

The list of clinics below are managed by Doctors who have knowledge and experience in caring for patients with Fabry disease. Fabry patients need to bring a GP referral letter with them to the Clinic appointment. It is important for all Fabry patients (male, female, adult and children, on ERT or not on ERT) are seen regularly by a Fabry Clinic to keep a check on the patient's progression of the disease. Even if patients are not particularly 'unwell'. Any questions about appointments or to make an appointment, please contact the Fabry Clinic directly. The Clinic appointment cost in Australia is covered by Medicare.

Royal Adelaide Hospital 

Associate Professor Ian Chapman
Internal Medicine
Location: Royal Adelaide Hospital
Email: ian.chapman@adelaide.edu.au
Phone: +61 8 8222 4162

Royal Brisbane and Women's Hospital (QLD)

Dr Charles Denaro
Internal Medicine & Aged Care
Location: Royal Brisbane & Women's Hospital (QLD)
Email: c.denaro@uq.edu.au
Phone: +61 7 3646 7678

Royal Melbourne Hospital (VIC & TAS)

Dr Kathy Nicholls
Nephrologist
Location: Royal Melbourne Hospital
Address: Grattan St, Parkville, VIC, 3050
Phone: +61 3 9342 7143

Royal Perth Hospital (WA)

Dr Mark Thomas

Nephrologist
Location: Royal Perth Hospital 
Address:  197 Wellington St, Perth WA 6000
Email:  mark.thomas@health.wa.gov.au
Phone: +61 89224 2550

Westmead Hospital

Dr Michel Tchan
Metabolic Clinic
Location: Westmead Hospital (NSW & ACT)
Email: michel.tchan@health.nsw.gov.au
Phone: +61 2 9845 9780

Australian Paediatric Fabry Clinics

Royal Children's Hospital (VIC)

Dr Heidi Peters and Dr Joy Lee
Clinical Metabolic Services
Location: Royal Childrens Hospital (VIC)
Email: metabolic@rch.org.au
Phone: +61 3 9345 6251

Women's and Children's Hospital (SA) 

Dr Drago Bratkovic
Metabolic Clinic
Location: Women's and Children's Hospital, SA
Email: drago.bratkovic@health.sa.gov.au
Phone: +61 8 8161 6726

Royal Children's Hospital (QLD) 

Dr Jim McGill
Metabolic Medicine
Location: Royal Children's Hospital (QLD)
Email: jim_mcgill@health.qld.gov.au
Phone: +61 7 3646 8111

King Edward Memorial Hospital (WA) 

Associate Professor Nicholas Pachter
Genetic Services of Western Australia
Location: King Edward Memorial Hospital (WA)
Email: Nicholas.Pachter@health.wa.gov.au
Phone: +61 6458 1525

The Children's Hospital at Westmead (NSW) 

Dr Carolyn Ellaway
Genetic Metabolic Disorders Services
Lysosomal Disorders Multidisciplinary Management Clinic
Location: The Children's Hospital at Westmead (NSW)
Email: carolyn.ellaway@health.nsw.gov.au
Phone: +61 2 9845 3654

New Zealand Centre - Auckland

Auckland City and Starship Children's Hospital (Auckland NZ) 

Dr Emma Glamuzina
Metabolic Consultant
Adult and Paediatric National Metabolic Service
Location: Auckland City and Starship Children's Hospital
Email: eglamuzina@adhb.govt.nz
Phone: +6421403617